Open House Dublin is Ireland’s largest architecture festival and is presented each year by the Irish Architecture Foundation This year from October 12-14th, 150 different events will allow those interested to visit and explore different architectural marvels completely for free. Professional tour guides will strike a great balance between showing off the legendary and well-known places, but also the hidden gems that many citizens may not be aware of. The architecture of Dublin is a sign of a city’s health and creativity and should be protected and preserved for generations to come. Supporting and attending the festival is one way to do so. Open House Dublin (OHD) is Ireland’s largest architecture festival, inviting all citizens to explore their city. It works through a simple but powerful idea: showcasing outstanding architecture for everyone to experience. Buildings that aren’t usually accessible to the public and buildings of architectural merit open their doors for one weekend, with architectural tours provided by expert guides.
All OHD tours are completely FREE!
Get to know more about The Church and take the time to learn more about it’s stunning architectural intricacies and rich history.
BUILT IN 1699 by William Robinson and Thomas Burgh, of the Royal The former St. Mary’s Church of Ireland is one of the earliest examples of a galleried church in Dublin. Built at the beginning of the 18th century, it boasts many outstanding features, such as the Renatus Harris built organ and spectacular stained glass window.
St. Mary’s closed in 1964 and lay derelict for a number of years until it was purchased by John Keating in 1997. Following extensive restoration over a seven year period, this List 1 building finally re-opened its doors in December 2005 as John M. Keating’s Bar. The tasteful conversion and refurbishment of this Dublin landmark was acknowledged at the Dublin City Neighbourhood Awards 2006, where it won first prize in the category of Best Old Building. In 2007 the building was acquired by new owners and the business was rebranded as The Church. Join us for these guided tours through the Main Bar, Cellar, Terrace and surrounding Wolfetone Square.
Important Historical Figures Associated With St. Mary’s Include:
Arthur Guinness – Founder of Guinness Brewery – married here in 1761.
Sean O’Casey – Playwright & Author of ‘The Plough & The Stars, “Juno & The Paycock’ & ‘The Shadow of a Gunman’ – baptised here in 1880.
Theobald Wolf Tone – United Irishmen Founder – baptised here in 1763.
John Wesley – Founder of the Methodist Church delivered his first Irish sermon here in 1747.
Jonathan Swift – Author of ‘Gulliver’s Travels’ and Dean of St. Patrick’s Cathedral attended services here.
The Earl of Charlemont and Irish Volunteer attended services here.
George Frederic Handel’s Messiah was first publicly performed in Dublin in April 1742 on Fishamble Street and it is known that he regularly used the organ here to practice.
Buried within the grounds are:
Mary Mercer – Founder of Mercer’s Hospital.
Lord Norbury –“The Hanging Judge” Ordered the execution of Robert Emmett in 1803